SmallHD DP7-PRO-OLED-SX On Camera Monitor

Today, everyone is shooting HD or beyond.

Lenses are one of the most important elements of a camera; they define picture resolution more than the camera sensor. But just as important, is being able to see an accurate, representation of your camera’s true colour gamut and contrast, that’s why I chose the DP7-PRO-OLED-SX monitor by SmallHD.

F5-Small-HD3

I won’t bang on about the image quality, you really have to see it for yourself; it’s superb. I went for the OLED version because I wanted the best high definition, on-camera monitor for my Sony PMW-F5. It’s probably the top 7-inch monitor in its class; my clients love it.

F5-Small-HD

The DP-7 also looks better than any monitor on the market today and seems extremely rugged but weighs in at just over half a kilogram. The menu system is also very intuitive, which is great for reactive style shooting. The proximity sensor switches are a real time-saver too.

Powering options

When used on my Sony F5, I power it from the cameras 12V Hirose. Otherwise, it’s a V-lock PAG, which runs it for ages.

All of the scopes you dream of –  full screen or windowed

  • Waveform monitor
  • Vecterscope
  • RGB Parade
  • Histogram

LUTs 

LUT’s enable me to show people what the final ‘look’ will actually look like on set. I can pre load my DP7-pro monitor with custom post-production LUT’s and view them in real time from the camera during playback or recording for everyone who needs to see it. Typical LUT’s can be basic contrast and saturation enhancements, film stock emulation, day for night, etc.

Cross Conversion

The cross conversion feature is handy too. HD-SDI to HDMI or HDMI to HD-SDI. Very useful if you’re feeding mixed monitors.

The DP7-PRO-OLED-SX is packed full of features that other field monitors simply don’t have. I’ve waited a long time for a monitor like this to come along. The DP7 is definitely the solution to a lot of my problems.

I really do believe the SmallHD company is in the same league as Steadicam, Panavision and Dedolight; unique innovators who produce kit that really makes a difference.

Please subscribe to my blog.

