Sachtler FSB 8 Tripod System

Quite a lot of my work these days involves shoots with lightweight HD cameras and although my O’Connor 1030 is a seriously good tripod for my bigger cameras, it’s a bit of overkill for say a Sony PMW-300.

I decided to buy a second tripod system based the following requirements.

  • A true fluid head with substantial drag
  • Lightweight system with payload flexibility
  • A head counterbalance that was above my present requirements
  • A sturdy tripod with an impressive maximum and minimum height.

When I started researching lightweight tripod systems, I immediately dismissed Manfrotto and Libec “they fill a place in the market, but it’s not what I’m looking for”.

I field-tested ‘three’ Miller DS20 fluid heads, they all felt different and failed to deliver anything I was accustomed to.

When I tried the Sachtler FSB 8 fluid head I was immediately impressed. It has 0 to 5 grades of fluid damping, a payload of 1-9 kg, ten-steps of counterbalance, all on a 75 mm ball. Having previously purchased Sachtler products, I new that the FSB 8 would have the same Sachtler quality and build as their bigger fluid heads; I wasn’t disappointed.

Sachtler’s 75 mm Speed Lock carbon fibre tripod was the obvious choice for the head FSB 8 fluid head, so I purchased the FSB 8 System, which performs beautifully.

The FSB 8 System cost around £1600 + tax, this combo weighs in at just 5.2kg, which is 3kg less than my Sachtler 18p.

  • Payload:                                1 – 10 kg / 2 – 22 lbs
  • Weight:                                  5.2 k / 11.4 lbs
  • Min height:                            95 cm / 37.4 in
  • Max height:                           158 cm / 62.2 in
  • Transport length:                   101 cm / 39.8 in

Sachtler FSB 8 T Fluid Head Spec.

  • Payload                                  1-9kg  / 2-20Ibs
  • Grades of Drag                       5 Horizontally, 5 vertically and 0
  • Tilt angle                                 +90˚/ -70˚
  • Temperature range                 -40˚C (-40˚F) to 60˚C (140˚F)
  • Level bubble                           Illuminated
  • Camera plate slide range       60mm / 2.4 inch
  • Camera fitting                        Touch & Go plate with 1/4“ and 3/8” screw
  • Tripod fitting                           75mm
  • Pan bar                                   43cm / 16.7” long

Please subscribe to my blog.

